Connect with us

Racing Lounge

Metge wins two stages on opening day, Santosh 2nd at Desert Storm



Adrien Metge in action.

Bikaner: TVS Racing’s Adrien Metge dominated Stage 1 of Desert Storm to register a win amidst strong competition here.

The French rider clocked good speeds from the start and was able to navigate with ease despite the scorching heat of the Thar desert. The stage covered a stretch of 80 kilometers around the sandy terrains of Bikaner.

Hero MotoSports Team Rally rider, CS Santosh made a cautious but solid start and closed the firt day on the second position.

Santosh is participating in his first competitive rally after suffering a crash at the Dakar Rally.

The leg was split into two special stages of 41 km and 46 km respectively, with first special offering a perfect warm up to the riders on a fast hard pack surface and the second special taking the challenge a notch higher with a mix of hard pack and sandy patches.

The second leg of the rally, will task the riders with a 116 kms of special stages to be run tomorrow, but not before covering a long transport section of 313 km to reach Jaisalmer in time for the second special of the leg 2.

CS Santosh.

Santosh said, “the first stage of the rally was all in the afternoon, and it was quite hot out there to ride. As it was my first race after a long gap since the Dakar, it took me a while to get going, so I am glad to see the back if it. I am looking forward to build on from here for the next couple of stages and getting into a good flow.”

Commenting on his performance Metge said, “this is my second Rally in India and I am really happy with my momentum at the start. Although the harsh weather is a big roadblock this time, I tried keeping my focus on navigation and successfully got my bike to the finish line. I hope to continue the momentum and have a podium finish.”

Provisional Results after Leg 1

1. Adrian Metge TVS Racing 01h 05m 03s

2. C.S. Santosh Hero MotoSports Team Rally +2m 20s

3. Tanveer Abdul Wahid TVS Racing +5m 08s

4. R NatarajR Nataraj, TVS Racing +11m 39s

5. Rajendran RE TVS Racing +12m 29s


Formula 1 legend Niki Lauda passes away




Niki Lauda who took the title for Ferrari in 1975 and 1977 and McLaren in 1984. Photo: Twitter

London: Three-time Formula One world champion Niki Lauda has passed away, his family has confirmed. He was 70.

The legendary Austrian, who took the title for Ferrari in 1975 and 1977 and McLaren in 1984, died on Monday, nine months after undergoing surgery for a lung transplant, reports the BBC.

“(He was) a role model and a benchmark for all of us,” said his family in a statement.

“His unique achievements as an athlete and entrepreneur are and will remain unforgettable, his tireless zest for action, his straightforwardness and his courage remain a role model and a benchmark for all of us,” the statement added.

Lauda, whose famous rivalry with British F1 legend James Hunt inspired the Chris Hemsworth film ‘Rush’, will be remembered for his remarkable recovery and return to racing after being badly burned in a crash in the 1976 German Grand Prix.

By the time Lauda ended his racing career in 1985, with his last race coming in Adelaide, he had competed in 171 Formula One races, winning 25 of them and standing on the podium 54 times.

In January this year, he spent some 10 days in hospital while suffering from influenza.

Continue Reading

Formula One

Hamilton pips Bottas to claim Spanish GP



It was Lewis Hamilton's third won of the season. Photo, Text:

Barcelona: Lewis Hamilton claimed his third win of the season, as Mercedes stretched their current record of consecutive one-two finishes to an incredible five, in the Spanish Grand Prix.

After beating Bottas to the first corner, Hamilton then led the race throughout, to net his third Spanish Grand Prix win in a row.

The Mercedes duo were joined on an identical podium to 2018 by the Red Bull of Max Verstappen, with the Ferrari pair of Sebastian Vettel and Charles Leclerc fourth and fifth, Verstappen maintaining his record of having finished ahead of at least one Ferrari at every race this season.

Pierre Gasly was P6 in the second Red Bull, while a late-race Safety Car – after McLaren’s Lando Norris and Racing Point’s Lance Stroll clashed in the first corner sequence – set up a dramatic finish behind, with Kevin Magnussen eventually claiming a fine seventh place and his first points since Australia.

Haas team mate Romain Grosjean claimed his first point of the year by finishing P10, despite dropping from P8 in a dramatic final few laps after being passed by the McLaren of Carlos Sainz – who maintained his record of scoring at every Spanish Grand Prix of his career – and the Toro Rosso of Daniil Kvyat, who finished P9.

Continue Reading


TVS Racing wins Desert Storm 2019



Adrian Metge.

Jaisalmer: A dominating performance from French rider Adrien Metge saw TVS Racing win the 2019 edition of Desert Storm here on Saturday.

Metge enjoyed a dream run in the rally, never once relinquishing his overall lead position across all stages despite the extreme heat.

The final stage, which spanned across 220 km, saw the riders brave a dust storm and navigate through the dunes of Jaisalmer.

While Metge claimed the top spot, teammate Abdul Wahid Tanveer impressed all by his performance across the rally, finishing on the podium with a consistent third place in the Group A (upto 450 cc category).

In the same category, TVS Racing’s R Nataraj finished at a commendable fourth place. Aishwarya Pissay finished at 16th spot.

Speaking after the race, Metge said: “I am delighted to have won Desert Storm 2019. Today was a short stage and I covered the route in good time as I have become familiar with the Jaisalmer terrain.

“There was a dust storm early in the stage but I kept my cool and put my A Game in motion to secure this win for TVS Racing. The support of the crew was fantastic throughout the rally and kept me going. I want to thank the entire TVS Racing team for their support.”

Continue Reading