Connect with us

Car Rally

School boy Sohil Shah completes a double in INCRC



L-R: MRF F1600 race winners Nayan Chattjerjee (Mumbai), Sohil Shah (Bengaluru) who won a double and Vishnu Prasad (Chennai) at the MMRT on Sunday.

New Delhi: Bengaluru school boy Sohil Shah finished a double in the premier MRF F1600 category as the third round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Car Racing Championship (INCRC) drew to a close at the Madras Motor Race Track on Sunday, a media release stated.

Meanwhile, VW Motorsport’s Ishaan Dodhiwala from Hyderabad marked his win in the Indian touring cars class after his teammate Karthik Tharani was disqualified for some reasons and banned for one race.

Viswas Vijayaraj (DTS Racing) in the Formula LGB 1300 race and Mumbai’s Saurav Bandyopadhyay from Volkswagen Ameo Class were the other winners of the day.

Tharani was disqualified because of his violations. The Stewards made a one-race ban which will take effect for the next round of the championship scheduled for August 16-18.

Because of the disqualification, teammate Dodhiwala was declared winner followed by Nikanth Ram (ARKA Motorsports) and Arjun Balu (Race Concepts).

The Stewards, following the hearing with Tharani, stated: “The competitor was called to give the explanation as to why he ignored the ‘drive through’ penalty board for five laps and ignored the ‘black flag’ for the remaining three laps of the race.

“In view of the fact that the competitor is a highly experienced driver and he is also a driver-trainer, the Stewards were of the opinion that exemplary sanctions should be imposed on this driver and a sentence of not being permitted a start in the next race of this championship (One race only).”

Ireland’s Lucca Allen completed a double by winning both the Formula 4 SEA races to make up for disappointing outings in yesterday’s double-header.

Ishaan Dodhiwala (No.23), who won the Indian Touring Cars race.

RESULTS (Provisional – all 8 laps unless mentioned):

MRF F1600 (Race-3): 1. Sohil Shah (Bengaluru) (13mins, 28.460secs); 2. A Bala Prasath (Coimbatore) (13:34.321); 3. Manav Sharma (Faridabad) (13:34.945). Race-4: 1. Sohil Shah (13:25.572); 2. Nayan Chatterjee (Mumbai) (13:27.330); 3. Vishnu Prasad (Chennai) (13:30.166).

Indian Touring Cars (Race-2): 1. Ishaan Dodhiwala (VW, Hyderabad) (15:41.905); 2.Nikanth Ram (Arka Motorsports, Coimbatore) (15:42.130); 3. Arjun Balu (Race Concepts, Coimbatore) (15:51.488).

Super Stock (Race-2): 1. Rithvik Thomas (Race Concepts) (16:27.646); 2. RP Rajarajan (Performance Racing) (16:28.805); 3.R Rajashekar (Race Concepts) (16:41.742).

Formula LGB 1300 (Race-2, 7 laps): 1. Viswas Vijayaraj (DTS Racing) (17:43.357); 2. Sohil Shah (M Sport) (17:43.957); 3. Ashwin Datta (Momentum Motorsports) (17:46.458).

Volkswagen Ameo Class (Race-2): 1. Saurav Bandyopadhyay (Mumbai) (15:49.972); 2. Pratik Sonawane (Pune) (15:52.896); 3. Avik Anwar (Bangladesh) (15:53.007).

Formula 4 SEA (Race-3, 11 laps): 1. Lucca Allen (Ireland) (21:16.050); 2. Shihab Al Habsi (Oman) (21:16.480); 3. Muizz Musyaffa (Malaysia) (21:19.262). Race-4 (13 laps): 1. Allen (21:29.615); 2. Al Habsi (21:31.570); 3. Elias Sappanen (Finland) (21:34.061).

Car Rally

Driver Kush Maini wins Race 1 of Formula Renault Eurocup Series in rookie category



Spa-Francorchamps: JK Racing driver Kush Maini won the rookie category on the last lap of Race 1 in the Formula Renault Eurocup here recently. Starting 11th on the grid he had to avoid going into the back of Leonard Lorandi’s car which was very slow off the start. Moving up positions as the race progressed, Kush made his way up to 6th place when the Safety Car was called out. This forced drivers to bunch up for the last few laps of the race.

Kush wrested the trophy from the hands of Patrik Pasma in the last corner. Rookies Petr Ptáček and Caio Collet (R-ace GP), finished seventh and eighth, while Alexander Smolyar (R-ace GP) and Xavier Lloveras claimed the final points on offer. Kush who finally finished in fifth position overall was extremely happy with the result.

“I started eleventh, so I knew that I would have to fight to move up the order. I was pretty confident, because I simply didn’t carry over my pace from practice to qualifying. I was able to preserve my tyres in the race while also passing my rivals. This allowed me to be extremely fast on the last lap and I pressured Patrik Pasma into a mistake when he missed his final braking point and I was able to win the rookie category. It is a reinforcing result, because it justifies our potential.”

The series will resume after summer break with the race in Nurburgring at the end of August.

Continue Reading

Top Picks