Connect with us

Football News

AFC pick Maldives to host ATK Mohun Bagan’s AFC Cup group games

Sports Lounge Staff



Mohun Bagan ISL

New Delhi: ATK Mohun Bagan would play their 2021 AFC Cup group stage matches in the Maldives, the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) announced on Monday.

Owing to the Covid-19 pandemic, the group stage games of the tournament would be held in centralised venues.

ATKMB are clubbed in Group D alongwith Bashundhara Kings from Bangladesh, Maziya Sports and Recreation from the Maldives and the winner of the South Zone Playoff.

Bagan bid for their group stag matches to be held in their home in Kolkata. But the AFC on Monday awarded the hosting rights to the Maldivian capital of Male.

The West Zone matches in Group A, which includes Al Hidd Club (BHR), Al Nasr (OMA), Al Wahda (SYR) and defending champions Al Ahed FC (LBN) will be hosted in Manama, Bahrain.

The Group B matches will be held ib Amman, Jordan featuring teams like Al Ansar FC (LBN), Muharraq Club (BHR), Al Salt (JOR) and Balata Center (PLE) as well as Group C, which consists of Al Faisaly (JOR), Al Seeb Club (OMA), Tishreen (SYR) and the winner of the West Zone Play-off match.

Group E matches will be Kyrgyz Republic with Dordoi FC being the host club for teams like Ahal FC (TKM) and FC Ravshan (TJK). While Dushanbe is selected as the host city for Group F matches which includes teams like FC Alay (KGZ), Altyn Asyr FC (TKM), FC Khujand (TJK) and the representative of Uzbekistan, AGMK FC or FC Nasaf, which will be decided after the AFC Champions League 2021 playoff match.

In the ASEAN zone, Singapore will host two groups, Group H and I with teams like Kedah Darul Aman (MAS), Lion City Sailors (SIN), Saigon (VIE) and the ASEAN Zone playoff 2 winner.

While Group I features Geylang International FC (SIN), Kaya FC-Iloilo (PHI), Terengganu FC (MAS) and the representative of Myanmar, Shan United FC or Ayeyawady United FC, depending on the results of the AFC Champions League 2021 Preliminary and playoff matches.

For the East Zone clubs, AFC selected Hong Kong as the host and Group J comprises teams like Athletic 220 FC (MNG), Eastern Long Lions (HKG), Lee Man (HKG) and Tainan City FC (TPE). The AFC is yeto to declare the hosts for the Group G matches.

“Get more sports news, cricket news and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe YouTube Channel.”