Connect with us

Football News

AIFF announces I-League champions to be promoted to ISL from 2023-24 season

Sports Lounge Staff



The I-League trophy

The winners of the 2022-23 season of the I-League will be promoted to the Indian Super League next season, the All India Football Federation stated.

AIFF president Kalyan Chaubey declared the news on Twitter stating that the decision is as per the roadmap agreed upon between the AIFF and the Asian Football Confederation in 2019.

According to the 2019 agreement, the winners of the I-League for the 2022-23 and the 2023-24 season will be promoted to the ISL without paying any fee. However, the I-League teams will have to fulfil Premier one licensing criteria, AIFF General Secretary Shaji Prabhakaran told PTI.

The 2022-23 ISL season began on October 7 while the I-League will kick-off on November 12 with defending champions Gokulam Kerala taking on runners-up Mohammedan Sporting at Malappuram.

“Get more sports news, cricket news and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to YouTube Channel.”