Connect with us

Football News

All eyes on Mohammedan as I-League kicks off with new format

Sports Lounge Staff



Mohammedan SC

Kolkata: Focus will squarely be on traditional heavyweights Mohammedan SC as their match with debutants Sudeva FC kicks off the 2020-21 I-League on Saturday.

This season would be unique as it would be held maintaining social distancing, bio bubble, and all health protocols.

All matches will be held at four venues – the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan, the Mohun Bagan Ground, and the Kishore Bharati Krirangan in Kolkata, and the Kalyani Municipal Stadium in Kalyani.

A total of 11 teams will fight for the title of champions over 160 matches.

The league will break away from the traditional league format — where all the teams play each other twice on a home and away basis (wherein the club which pocketed the maximum number of points were declared champions).

Owing to current circumstances – the ongoing threat of the Covid pandemic situation, the new format will see the league divided into two different phases.

The first phase – referred to as the League Stage will see all the teams play one match against each other in a round-robin format. After every team completes 10 matches each, the 11 participating teams will be divided into two groups – Group A and Group B.

Group A will consist of the teams that finish in the top six spots in the League stage. During this second phase, these six teams will again play a match each against each other in a round-robin format. The points from both the phases will be put together to determine the champion (the team that finishes at the top of Group A).

On the other hand, Group B will comprise of the teams that finish in the bottom five spots of the League stage. Much like Group A, the five teams in Group B will also play a match each against each other once — in the round-robin format. The points from both the phases will be accrued together to determine which side (bottom-placed) gets relegated.

Out of all the 11 teams currently playing in this season’s Hero I-League, Sudeva Delhi FC and Indian Arrows have immunity from relegation. If either of these teams finish at the bottom of Group B, the team placed above them will be relegated.

“Get more sports news, cricket news and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe YouTube Channel.”