Connect with us

Cricket News

3rd ODI: Avishka Fernando does it for Sri Lanka, hosts defeat India by 3 wickets




Colombo: Sri Lankan batsman Avishka Fernando slammed 76 off 98 ball to provide hosts a much needed win against India.

India take the series 2-1.

Sanju Samson, Nitish Rana, Chetan Sakariya, K Gowtham and Rahul Chahar were playing their first ODI.

This is only the second time India are featuring five debutants in an ODI after the inaugural ODI in 1974. The last time they fielded so many debutants was against Australia in 1980.

India have already won the first two ODIs, beating Sri Lanka by seven wickets and three wickets.

Playing XIs

India: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Nitish Rana, Hardik Pandya, Krishnappa Gowtham, Rahul Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

Sri Lanka: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka (wicketkeeper), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrama.

“Get more sports news, cricket news and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to YouTube Channel.”