Connect with us

Cricket News

IPL 2020: Mumbai dominate Punjab to go top with second win

Sports Lounge Staff



Mumbai vs Punjab

Abu Dhabi: Mumbai Indians dished out a splendid allround performance to outplay Kings XI Punjab by 48 runs in their Indian Premier League (IPL) match here on Thursday.

Put in to bat, skipper Rohit Sharma smashed a 45-ball 70 at the top, while Kieron Pollard (47 not out) and Hardik Pandya (30 not out) provided the late charge as MI posted a challenging 191 for 4.

Chasing the total, KXIP scored 143 for 8 in 20 overs. Nicholas Pooran (44) was the top-scorer for his team.

For MI, Jasprit Bumrah (2/18), Rahul Chahar (2/26) and James Pattinson (2/28) captured two wickets each.

Earlier, KXIP won the toss and chose to field. Sheldon Cottrell gave them a good start with the wicket of Quinton de Kock in the very first over.

While captain Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav then seemed to be steadying the ship for MI, the latter was run out by Mohammed Shami with a direct hit from short fine leg.

Ishan Kishan, who scored a memorable 99 in the previous match against Royal Challengers Bangalore, struggled to get the run rate for much of his innings.

His troubled stay at the crease was eventually ended on 28 off 32 balls by Krishnappa Gowtham, thus ending a 62-run stand between him and Rohit.

Pollard then came in and provided able company as Rohit increased the run rate. The MI captain, who crossed 5,000 runs in the IPL through the course of the innings, looked set for a century but a brilliant piece of teamwork between Glenn Maxwell and James Neesham at the boundary behind the bowler led to his dismissal.

Maxwell ran in from long-off and caught the ball which Rohit was looking to deposit over the ropes off Shami. His momentum however took him over the ropes but he lobed it back towards Neesham who ran in from long on before he touched the ground beyond the boundary.

But Pollard and Hardik came in and smashed 44 runs off the last overs to take MI beyond the 190-run mark.

Mumbai Indians: 191 for 4 in 20 overs (Rohit Sharma 70; Sheldon Cottrell 1/20).

Kings XI Punjab: 143 for 8 in 20 overs (Nicholas Pooran 44; Jasprit Bumrah 2/18).

Get more sports news, cricket news and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe YouTube Channel.”