Connect with us

Football News

Indian Super League to begin on November 20

Sports Lounge Staff




Kolkata: Indian Super League’s seventh edition (2020-21) will begin on November 20.

The league will be staged in Goa under strict health protocols with matches being played behind closed doors.

The major attraction for this season’s ISL is the inclusion of two Kolkata giants ATK Mohun Bagan and SC East Bengal.

Reigning champions ATK merged with I-League winners Mohun Bagan to form ATK Mohun Bagan.

East Bengal on the other hand had managed to rope in Shree Cement Foundation as major stake holder and will take part in the ISL 2020-21 as SC East Bengal.

A total number of 11 clubs will participate in this edition of the ISL.

The winner of the league phase will play in the AFC Champions League 2022’s group stage. Last season’s League champions FC Goa earned a place in ACL 2021.

The 11 teams participating in the league are: ATK Mohun Bagan, Bengaluru FC, Chennaiyin FC, FC Goa, Hyderabad FC, Jamshedpur FC, Kerala Blasters, Mumbai City FC, NorthEast United FC, Odisha FC and SC East Bengal.

All the matches will be shown live on the Star Sports Network and Hotstar.

“Get more sports news, cricket news and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe YouTube Channel.”