Connect with us


NBA picks 20 Indian kids for Junior Global Championship

Sports Lounge Staff



Muskaan Singh of Patna with her ticket to Orlando (Florida) to compete in the Junior NBA Global Championship.

Selected players to compete in second edition of Jr. NBA Global Championship from August 6-11 in USA

New Delhi: The National Basketball Association (NBA) announced the 10 boys and 10 girls who will represent India in the second Jr. NBA Global Championship, a youth basketball tournament for the top 13- and 14-year-old boys and girls teams from around the world that will be held August 6-11 at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Walt Disney World near Orlando, Florida.

The 20 youth players were chosen following a two-day selection camp at the NBA Academy India in Delhi NCR. The camp featured forty 13 and 14-year-olds from the Reliance Foundation Jr. NBA Skills Challenges, City Competitions and National Finals.

L-R: Selected kids for the Junior NBA Global Championships—Irin Elsa John, Bhumika Sarje, Riccha Ravi and Dev Premi—in Mumbai.

In the inaugural event last year, Sunishka Kartik from the India girls team won the Community Award while Bhavik Garg won the Tip-Off Ceremony Dance Contest.  Sachin Yadav and Moumita Mishra will both return for their second appearance in the annual youth basketball tournament.

The Jr. NBA Global Championship will feature boys and girls divisions, separated into U.S. and international brackets that begin with round-robin play and continue with single-elimination competition.  The winners of the U.S. and international brackets will play in the global championship games on Aug. 11. During the weeklong event, all 32 teams will participate in activities designed to reinforce the Jr. NBA’s core values and provide the players with development opportunities and memorable experiences off the court, including life skills sessions, Disney park visits and a community service project.

India Boys Team India Girls Team
Sachin Yadav – Delhi Riccha Ravi – Mumbai
Dev Premi – Mumbai Moumita Mishra – Bengaluru
Arnav Gupta – Bengaluru Jeevika Kumar – Chennai
Pranav Varma – Hyderabad Manmeet Kaur – Punjab
Karan Pashi – Kolkata Irin Elsa John – Kerala
Janmejay Singh – Chandigarh Osheen Singh – Jabalpur
Md. Kaif – Varanasi Bhumika Sarje – Pune
Harsh Dagar – Delhi NCR Dhara Phate – Nagpur
Lokendra – Delhi NCR Shomira Bidaye – Nagpur