Connect with us

Cricket News

Sourav Ganguly files nomination papers for BCCI president’s post

Sports Lounge Staff




Mumbai: Former India captain Sourav Ganguly and Jay Shah has filed their nominations papers for the post of president and secretary, respectively, ahead of the October 23 BCCI elections where all office-bearers are expected to be elected unopposed.

Flanked by former BCCI President N Srinivasan, former Secretary and Saurashtra stalwart Niranjan Shah and former IPL chairman and Uttar Pradesh strongman Rajiv Shukla, Ganguly entered the BCCI headquarters to submit his nomination papers to the electoral officer.

Later, Shukla informed reporters that eight nominations were filed.

Apart from Ganguly and Shah, the others who filed their nominations included Mahim Verma (vice-president), Arun Singh Dhumal (treasurer), Brijesh Patel (IPL GC Member), Jayesh George (Joint Secretary), Khairul Jamil Majumdar (governing council member)and Prabhjot Singh Bhatia (Councillor).

All these candidates are are expected to be elected unopposed at the board’s Annural General Meeting on October 23.

Ganguly and George will have to demit office as chiefs of Cricket Association of Bengal and Kerala Cricket Association respectively after they take charge at BCCI.

“Get more sports news, cricket news and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe YouTube Channel.”