Connect with us

Cricket News

Kane Williamson returns to NZ T20I fold for India series



Kane Williamson

Wellington: New Zealand have announced their 14-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against India in which they have recalled right-arm pacer Hamish Bennett.

With regular pacemen Trent Boult and Lockie Ferguson still recovering from injury, Bennett is in line to make his first appearance for the national side since 2017.

Selector Gavin Larsen said the call-up was just reward for the 32-year-old”s form and perseverance.

“We”re delighted to have Hamish back in the fold for what will be a huge series against India,” Larsen said.

“We all know he brings good pace and bounce but it”s the clever variations he”s added that make him such a well-rounded T20 bowler,” he added.

Captain Kane Williamson returns to the New Zealand T20I squad after missing the England series in November with a hip injury, while Tom Bruce has been recalled for the final two games of the series in a swap-out with Colin de Grandhomme.

Jimmy Neesham, who recently injured his quad muscle playing domestic cricket, has been included in New Zealand A”s squad for their three one-dayers against India A next week, but not in the T20I squad.

“The next few weeks will be really intense for our elite male cricketers and we”re fully aware of the challenges ahead. We clearly want to win the series in front of us while also considering our wider ICC T20 World Cup campaign plan,” said Larsen.

India have also announced their 16-man squad for the series which gets underway at Eden Park on January 24.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Hamish Bennett, Tom Bruce (matches 4-5), Colin de Grandhomme (matches 1-3), Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), K.L. Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur.

“Get more sports news, cricket news and football updates, log on to Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe YouTube Channel.”

Continue Reading


  1. g or

    June 21, 2020 at 5:38 am

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your blog.
    You have some really good posts and I believe I would be a good asset.

    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to
    write some articles for your blog in exchange for
    a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested.
    Thank you!


    June 26, 2020 at 9:13 am

    You really make it appear so easy together with your presentation however I find this topic to be really one thing which I believe I would
    by no means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and extremely extensive for me.

    I’m looking ahead in your next post, I will try to get the
    hold of it!


    June 26, 2020 at 4:21 pm

    When I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me
    when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time
    a comment is added I receive four emails with
    the same comment. Is there an easy method you can remove me from that service?

  4. cbd oil that works 2020

    June 27, 2020 at 4:18 pm

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your
    great post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  5. cbd oil that works 2020

    June 28, 2020 at 6:43 am

    Hi my friend! I wish to say that this post is amazing, great written and include almost all
    vital infos. I’d like to look more posts like this .

  6. cbd oil that works 2020

    June 29, 2020 at 3:54 am

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for cbd oil that works 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.